Three Kennedy Nurses Named as Finalists in the Nurse Excellence Awards
Monday, May 23, 2011

Nursing Excellence Awards 2011

Kennedy University Hospital recently became the only South Jersey-based healthcare system to have three of its nurses honored as finalists in the prestigious 2011 Nurse Excellence Awards sponsored by Nursing Spectrum magazine. Kennedy nurses Diana Ohaus, RN; Cathie Jones, RN; and Martin Manno, RN; were honored at a Gala in Philadelphia on May 18th.

The Greater Philadelphia/Tri-State Nurse Excellence Awards recognize the extraordinary contributions nurses make to their patients, other nurses, and the community. Hundreds of nurses from throughout the region were nominated by co-workers, supervisors, and community members. Thirty nurses were then named finalists in the awards’ six categories: Mentoring, Community Service, Teaching, Advancing the Profession, Management, and Clinical Care. The six overall winners are chosen by a group of Nursing Spectrum Advisory Board members. 


Cathie Jones, RN, of Shamong, NJ, is Clinical Director of Kennedy’s Behavioral Health Services, based in Cherry Hill, NJ. A finalist in the Teaching category, Ms. Jones was singled out for her work as a clinical advisor, liaison and resource to Kennedy’s clinical staff. With a focus on patient safety and clinical excellence, Ms. Jones has taken a leadership role in several key initiatives, including Patient Safety Rounds, Behavioral Health’s Personal Assessment/Patient Search Procedure (aimed at indentifying potentially dangerous items) and the establishment of the Tier 1 Alert psychiatric emergency response team that has resulted in a substantial reduction in behavioral disturbances within the hospital setting. Earlier this year at Kennedy, Ms. Jones was a recipient of a Quality Award at Kennedy for her leadership role in developing and implementing the Tier 1 Alert program. A member of Sigma Theta Tau and the National League of Nursing, she earned her BSN from the University of Delaware and an MSN from the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey (UMDNJ)-School of Nursing.  

Cathie Jones, RN

Martin Manno, RN, of Lumberton, NJ, is Corporate Director for Clinical Education, Professional Development and Research at Kennedy. A finalist the Mentoring category, he was recognized for his leadership and standards of excellence in overseeing the department of clinical educators and support staff. Motivational and industrious, Mr. Manno was also praised as the creator and author of Mosby’s NCLEX Review Cards, which present more than 1200 practice questions, along with test-taking tips, for those preparing for the National Council Licensure Examination. Mr. Manno has also authored numerous publications and presented locally and nationally on topics ranging from evidence-based nursing to patient safety and personal development. In the Fall of 2010, he was the recipient of the Honorary Nursing Ambassador Award presented by the UMDNJ-School of Nursing. Mr. Manno received his BSN from Thomas Edison State College and his MSN from Widener University and is currently pursuing his Ph.D. from Capella University in Minneapolis.

Martin Manno, RN

Diana Ohaus, RN, a Critical Care nurse in the Kennedy-Stratford ICU, was recognized in the Clinical Care category for her advocacy in advancing the bedside nurses’ role. Diana took a lead role in improving quality in the ICU by initiating staff education regarding infection reduction. With a strong commitment to clinical excellence, Ms. Ohaus played a key role in the establishment of Kennedy’s shared governance model for nursing, and has served as chairperson of the ICU Education Council. Currently, Ms. Ohaus is leading a group to pilot a mentoring program in the Kennedy-Stratford ICU. Ms. Ohaus is also actively involved in Medication Administration Check (MAK) clinical workgroup, as well as its Medication Safety Team, Informatics Committee and Staff Development Committee. She holds a BSN from New Jersey’s Rutgers University.  

Diana Ohaus, RN


Along with the awards honorees, several other Kennedy RNs were invited to the recent Nursing Excellence Awards Gala as part of the “Honor Your Own” program. They are: Marianne Kraemer (Marlton), Helene Burns (Berlin), Maureen Green (Pennsauken), Sandy Bishop (Tabernacle), Jeanette May (Sicklerville), Teresa Sabol (Marlton), Charaia Hill (Deptford), Alice Farrell (Oaklyn), Renee Stephens (Glassboro), Janine Meehan (Sicklerville), Vicki O’Donnell (Williamstown), Maria DeGaetano (Marlton), Pamela Humphrey (Tabernacle), Linda Garrett (Haddonfield), Lori Davis (Waterford), Linda Fleming (West Berlin), Tim Hughes (Haddon Heights) and Lynn Stott (Stratford).