Four Area Leaders Named Recipients of the 2012 Kennedy Beacon Award
Wednesday, February 29, 2012

2012 Kennedy Beacon Awards

Robert I. Barsky, D.O., Kathryn M. Donley, RN, BSN, CCRN, CNRN, H. Timothy Dombrowski, D.O., and New Jersey State Senator Fred H. Madden have been named 2012 recipients of the Beacon Awards presented by the Kennedy Health System. The awards were given at the Kennedy “Black Pearl” fundraising Gala held February 25th in Philadelphia. The awards are given annually to extraordinary individuals in recognition of their outstanding contributions to healthcare in our community and to the success of the Kennedy Health System. 

  • Dr. Robert Barsky of Cherry Hill, NJ, is a renowned board-certified urologist who has served Kennedy proudly as a physician and medical staff leader for more than 25 years. He has shown an unwavering commitment to Kennedy, and its mission to be a leader in healthcare, medical education and community service. An active member of Kennedy’s Medical Staff since 1986, Dr. Barsky was Chief of Staff from 2009-2011, during a time of intense growth and change for the organization. A passionate advocate for quality patient care, Dr. Barsky is currently a member of the Kennedy University Hospital Board of Trustees. The son of one of Kennedy – Washington Township’s founding physicians, he is a 1981 graduate of the Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine, and has been named a “Top Doc” by South Jersey magazine for five consecutive years.

  • Kathryn M. Donley, BSN, RN, CCRN, CNRN, of Philadelphia, PA, is Stroke Program Coordinator at Kennedy and has been instrumental in the development and successful implementation of NJ State-designated Primary Stroke Center status at all three Kennedy hospital campuses. Under her leadership, each of Kennedy’s Stroke Centers has achieved recognition from the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association - Get with the Guidelines™ program for its excellence in stroke care. Ms. Donley’s passion, commitment and leadership are evident in her drive to improve quality, patient outcomes and patient safety and she was named one of South Jersey Magazine’s “Top 40 Superwomen of South Jersey” in 2010.

  • Dr. H. Timothy Dombrowski of Voorhees, NJ, has earned the respect of his colleagues and patients through his integrity, strong work ethic, and commitment to bettering the health status of the community at large. Dr. Dombrowski has served as Chief of Medicine at Kennedy – Stratford and is currently Chair of the Department of Medicine at UMDNJ-SOM. He is board certified in Internal Medicine, with additional certifications in Critical Care Medicine and Geriatrics.  In 2008, he earned a master’s degree in public health (MPH) from the UMDNJ-School of Public Health. Dr. Dombrowski is deeply committed to volunteering his time and energy to the community for various health-based projects. In 2011, Dr. Dombrowski received the American Osteopathic Foundation’s “Spirit of Humanity” award and has been named a “Top Doc” by South Jersey Magazine on four separate occasions.

  • Fred H. Madden has been a longtime supporter of the Kennedy Health System and strong advocate for healthcare initiatives. As a State Senator representing the 4th Legislative District, he has championed legislation that protects the health and welfare of healthcare professionals.  Over the past decade, some of the important legislation Fred Madden has sponsored include: expanding the duties performed by Advanced Practice Nurses (APNs) in NJ, and the establishment of task forces on chronic kidney disease, epilepsy and student athlete cardiac screening. Senator Madden was awarded the Family Resource Network and Epilepsy Foundation of New Jersey Legislator of the Year Award in 2010. A father of four, Senator Madden and his wife, Patricia, a Nurse Navigator based at Kennedy’s Washington Township hospital, reside in Washington Township, NJ.
The 2012 Kennedy Beacon Award Winners
Dr. H. Timothy Dombrowski   Dr. Robert Barsky
Kathryn M. Donley, BSN, RN, CCRN, CNRN   Fred H. Madden