ER Wait Times

ER Wait Times

Jefferson Cherry Hill Hospital

11 min.

Jefferson Stratford Hospital

7 min.

Jefferson Washington Township Hospital

35 min.

Jefferson Health’s Cherry Hill and Stratford Hospitals Awarded Advanced Certification for Primary Stroke Centers from The Joint Commission

January 28, 2019

The Joint Commission, in collaboration with The American Heart Association/American Stroke Association (AHA/ASA), has recognized Jefferson Health’s Cherry Hill and Stratford hospitals for the first time with the Heart-Check mark for Advanced Certification for Primary Stroke Centers.

Established in 2003, Advanced Certification for Primary Stroke Centers is awarded to qualifying Joint Commission-accredited acute care hospitals for a two-year period.

Jefferson Health in New Jersey recently underwent a rigorous onsite review, where Joint Commission experts evaluated Jefferson’s compliance with stroke-related standards and requirements, including program management, the delivery of clinical care and performance improvement. Both the Jefferson Cherry Hill Hospital and the Jefferson Stratford Hospital are NJ state-designated Primary Stroke Centers.

“Jefferson Health has thoroughly demonstrated the greatest level of commitment to the care of stroke patients through its Advanced Certification for Primary Stroke Centers,” said Patrick Phelan, Executive Director, Hospital Business Development, The Joint Commission. “We commend Jefferson Health in New Jersey for becoming a leader in stroke care, potentially providing a higher standard of service for stroke patients in its community.”

“We congratulate Jefferson for achieving this designation,” said Nancy Brown, Chief Executive Officer, AHA/ASA. “By adhering to this very specific set of treatment guidelines Jefferson Health in New Jersey has clearly made it a priority to deliver high quality care to all patients affected by stroke.”

Stroke is 5th leading cause of death and a leading cause of adult disability in the U.S., according to the AHA/ASA. On average, someone suffers a stroke every 40 seconds; someone dies of a stroke every four minutes; and 795,000 people suffer a new or recurrent stroke each year. Stroke accounts for one out of every 19 deaths in the United States.

About The Joint Commission: Founded in 1951, The Joint Commission seeks to continuously improve healthcare for the public, in collaboration with other stakeholders, by evaluating healthcare organizations and inspiring them to excel in providing safe and effective care of the highest quality and value. The Joint Commission accredits and certifies more than 21,000 healthcare organizations and programs in the United States. An independent, nonprofit organization, The Joint Commission is the nation’s oldest and largest standards-setting and accrediting body in healthcare.

About the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association:

The American Heart Association and the American Stroke Association are devoted to saving people from heart disease and stroke- America’s No. 1 and No. 4 killers; they team with millions of volunteers to fund innovative research, fight for stronger public health policies, and provide lifesaving tools and information to prevent and treat these diseases. The Dallas-based American Heart Association is the nation’s oldest and largest voluntary organization dedicated to fighting heart disease and stroke. The American Stroke Association is a division of the American Heart Association.

The familiar Heart-Check mark now helps consumers evaluate their choices in hospital care. Each mark given to a hospital is earned by meeting specific standards for the care of patients with heart disease and/or stroke. The Heart-Check mark can only be displayed by hospitals that have achieved and defined requirements set by the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association.